Welcome to My Gothic Blog!

Welcome to my Gothic Blog! Enjoy your stay here!

Friday, 16 January 2015

Timeline of Gothic Literature (1764-1902)

Gothic Literature began when Horace Walpole wrote The Castle of Otranto. This chart lists the Gothic works that followed Otranto's story in a chronological way:

1764 : Horace Walpole, The Castle of Otranto
1794 : Ann Radcliffe, The Mysteries of Udolpho
1794 : William Godwin, Caleb Williams
1796 : Matthew Gregory Lewis, The Monk
1798 : Regina Maria Roche, Clermont
1818 : Mary Shelley, Frankenstein
1819 : John William Polidori, The Vampyre
1847 : Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights
1872 : Joseph Sheridan le Fanu, Carmilla
1886 : Robert Louis Stevenson, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1891 : Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray
1897 : Bram Stoker, Dracula
1902 : W. W. Jacobs, The Monkey's Paw

Those interested in this topic might find the following article worth reading:
Timeline of Gothic Fiction - BBC

No comments:

Post a Comment